Forever Faithful

Isaiah 25:1 “O LORD, you are my God; I will exalt you; I will praise your name, for you have done wonderful things, plans formed of old, faithful and sure.”

My bed was warm and comfy.  With no heat source through the night, I knew the air in our apartment would be cold, downright uncomfortable.  Awake but not yet wanting to face the cold, bundled under my blankets, my bed was a cocoon of warmth, a momentary solace of quiet and comfort.  My body was still and quiet, but my mind was awake and contemplating the spectacular view awaiting my gaze within another 45 minutes.  Looking down the hill toward the Tagus River, the sparkling night lights of Lisbon at night are a view to behold.  An artist’s dream, the glow of early morning pinks and oranges paint the horizon as the sun starts its daily ascent into the sky. 

Lying in bed and thinking about the scene soon to cast its spell, I was reminded of God’s faithfulness.  My view might change because of the weather or location, but I can count on whether I live in Portugal, Zambia, or back in the states; my God never changes.  Heb 13:8, Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.  I can rest assured that in sickness or health, seasons of stress or joy, pain or elation, my God is a fortress of protection.  More dependable than the rising and setting of the sun and the seasons of the year, I know that I am secure within the arms of my faithful God.  He never changes. 

Psa 31:5 “Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me O LORD, faithful God.”

Deu 7:9 “Know therefore that the LORD your God is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations,”

There are moments when the scene before us demands our worship of the Creator of the Universe.  Our first view of Mt Denali in Alaska was so breathtaking that my soul cried out in wonder.  Looking down into Crater Lake from the mountaintop trail, witnessing the elephants and lions in Africa, watching my husband and son-in-law baptize our granddaughter, holding our babies, our children’s weddings; so many memorable moments, all so unique, so intimate, all so life-altering.  Recalling moments of wonder could go on and on.  I praise my God and redeemer for these mountain-top moments.  These reminders of His faithfulness take me through the days and months in the ups and downs of the valley.  Psa 23:4 “Yet even thou I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

Today, I thank the Lord that I have the health to crawl out of bed.  I thank the Lord for calling my husband and me to a ministry that allows us to use the skills that he has given us.  I am thankful for my family back home, and I release them and their needs to my God and comforter.  I can do that because I know that He is forever faithful.  My soul will join the heavenly chorus as I look out upon the dawn of this new day singing, Great is thy faithfulness, Great is thy faithfulness, Great is thy faithfulness Lord unto me. 

Dear Jesus, Thank you for your steadfast love.  Thank you that when all seems to go wrong with the world, I can rest assured that you are in control and that you are faithful.  During times of distress and doubt, help me remember your faithful promises.  1 Kings 8:23 “Oh LORD, God of Israel, there is no God like you, in heaven above or on earth beneath, keeping covenant and showing steadfast love to your servants who walk before you with all their heart;” I praise you for your goodness, steadfast love, and unending faithfulness to those who love you.  In the name of Jesus, we pray.  Amen

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *