Brother, Sister, and Mother

Dear friends, The concept behind the June devotional was one that I wrestled with. I pray that you too will dig deeper into God’s Word to search for understanding of this amazing promise.

Blessings to you,  Linda

Brother, Sister, and Mother

 

Matthew 12:46-50

“While he was still speaking to the people, behold, his mother and his brothers stood outside asking to speak to him. But he replied to the man who told him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?” And stretching out his hand toward his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers! For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”

I grew up in a family of seven, and I was the middle-child. Many bemoan the placement of a “middle-child”, however, I found it to be a very safe place. I would watch my older brother and sister and learn what to do and if I was smart, what not to do. I would watch my younger brothers and know that I didn’t want to act like the spoiled last children. (Sorry Russ and Bruce!) In today’s passage we see that Jesus calls believers, “mother and brothers.” For years I have known the truth of believers being “heirs” of God. But as I was reading my devotions this week, the devotional writer talked about Jesus being our “older brother.” Wait, what? That sounds TOO personal! That sounds almost sacrilegious! Jesus, the creator of the universe, The King of Kings to which every knee will someday bow, (Romans 14:11) and I can call myself His personal sister?  I need to think about this one…….

Gal 4: 4- 7 “But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God.”

The letter to the Galatians clearly explains the relationship of believers to our Savior as “heirs,” meaning that we are sons and daughters. We are children of God. Christ is the obedient, perfect son, fulfilling the will of God the Father through sacrificing his life that we might be justified. If Christ then is “Son” and we have been adopted as “sons and daughters,” then we are clearly the stepbrothers and stepsisters of Jesus. Yet, God in his love, NEVER calls us stepchildren. “Abba Father,” the term that Christ himself uses exemplifying warm expression and love for the Father, is also used to express his love for us as his brothers and sisters. We are Heirs of Christ, accepted totally; as we are, broken and imperfect. Yet, God’s Word clearly tells us that we are the brothers and sisters of Christ.

Romans 8:15 “For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, Abba! Father!”

Hebrews 2: 8b-12 “Now in putting everything in subjection to him, he left nothing outside his control. At present, we do not yet see everything in subjection to him. But we see him who for a little while was made lower than the angels, namely Jesus, crowned with glory and honor because of the suffering of death, so that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone. For it was fitting that he, for whom and by whom all things exist, in bringing many sons to glory, should make the founder of their salvation perfect through suffering. For he who sanctifies and those who are sanctified all have one source. That is why he is not ashamed to call them brothers, saying,

“I will tell of your name to my brothers; in the midst of the congregation, I will sing your praise.”

While I can look back on my years as a child with fondness and with many wonderful memories, those years are also filled with the reality of the turmoil of growing up. Brothers and sister (including me) who at times treated each other with contempt, jealousy, and anger. Human behaviors that we sadly all succumb to at times. How grateful I am for my spiritual “brother” Jesus. His love was and is sacrificial. He only wants what is best for me at all times. His love is eternal. Dear friends, for those who have accepted the love of God the Father, through the sacrifice of Jesus, the one and only Son, we can boldly come before the throne of God as heirs of Christ, sons and daughters of God, brothers and sisters of Christ.

I still wrestle with the reality of God’s love, grace, and mercy as I contemplate the reality of this truth.

Dear Father, We come before you with grateful hearts, thanking you for your love, mercy, and grace that you have called us to be sons and daughters, heirs with Christ. No words can express the love that you have shown towards us. (Psalm 7:17) “I will give the LORD the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the LORD, the Most High.“(Psalm 9:2) “I will be glad and exult in you; I will sing praise to your name O Most High.“ (Psalm 18:49) “For this I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations, and sing to your name.”

In the precious name of Jesus we pray, Amen.

For further study see:

Hebrews 13:12

Romans 8:29

Interview with Jon Piper, Desiring God Jesus Is My Brother – But What Does That Mean?

 

“When a flower doesn’t bloom you fix the environment in which it grows, not the flower.” ~ Alexander den Heijer
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *